Out of Line Website Out of Line Shop


Empyrium - A Retrospective - CD

Format CD
SKU PRO 084-2
Release Date Jan 11, 2019
price incl. VAT., excl. shipping

Examined from temporal distance, Empyrium’s complete body of work is within reasonable limits in terms of quantity: during the eight years of the band’s history, they released four albums, each of them marking a recognizable progress from its predecessor. 1996’s still immature and effusive debut “A Wintersunset ...” paved the way for “Songs Of Moors & Misty Fields” (1997), Empyrium’s hallmark in the Dark Metal underground. In the next few years, the band offered “Where At Night The Wood Grouse Plays” (1999) and “Weiland” (2002), two albums as sophisticated as unique in terms of both music and content, straying beyond the scope of conventional genres, the closest denominator being Dark Folk, if only for a lack of alternatives. With “Weiland”, Empyrium finally came so close to the essence of their own creative spirit as to seeing no more sense in continuing the band, resulting in dispersal for the time being. As the title suggests, “A Retrospective ...” is a look back on the work of Empyrium. Aside from re-mastered songs from all four studio albums, the CD contains two unreleased new tracks, “Der Weiher” and “Am Wolkenstieg”, as well as a newly arranged and recorded version of “The Franconian Woods In Winter’s Silence” (originally off “A Wintersunset...”).

01. The Franconian Woods In Winter's Silence
02. A Gentle Grieving Farewell Kiss
03. The Blue Mists Of Night
04. Mourners
05. Where At Night The Wood Grouse Plays
06. Dying Brokenhearted
07. The Shepherd And The Maiden Ghost
08. Heimwärts
09. Waldpoesie
10. Die Schwäne Im Schilf
11. Das Blau-Kristallne Kämmerlein
12. Der Weiher
13. Am Wolkenstieg

Empyrium - A Retrospective - CD

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views