Then Comes Silence - Machine - CD

Availability: In Nachbestellung / Backorder
Release Date

Jointly waving the flags of post-punk and goth, front man Alex Svenson regards Then Comes Silence as a rock’n’roll band for the darker side of things. “There will not be any new Bowies, McCartneys, Ramones or Lemmys for a long time. Not in this contemporary pop cultural world we are working in”, he says. “We have to be the Rhine Maidens guarding the Rheingold. Become the guardians of the holy grail until the day the new rock prophets are born.”

Their huge new album “Machine” is a reflection of that: More rock, more death, more unhealthy obsessions with all things dark and sinister. “I wanted to take a different turn away from the path and not make just another ‘Blood’.” Alex took the matter gravely serious and even helmed it as producer. “In 2016 we sprinkled the recordings with cash and had no idea how to calculate the cost”, he honestly recalls. “We had a generous budget for a small band and no experience how to use it. We believed we could lean back and take the ride. The hangover came later.”

“Machine” was a very painful album to write, in many ways a return to their humble beginnings as a Swedish underground phenomenon. The gripping beats, the eerily cold melodies, the wintry guitars and those ghostly hooks prove it was all worth it – even the “lost album” written by Alex before even starting on “Machine”. It all lead to this point. It all lead to seductive, gloomy anthems like “We Lose The Night”, “Dark End” or “Kill It”. Mixed by legend Stefan Glaumann (Rammstein, Deathstars, Killing Joke), Then Comes Silence come full circle and finally sound like they ever wanted to – “like ice cold water running through a pipe of stainless steel on a November morning.” Hearts will be melted. Blood will freeze.


1. We Lose The Night (03:56)
2. Devil (03:28)
3. Dark End (04:10)
4. I Gave You Everything (03:49)
5. Ritual (04:06)
6. Apocalypse Flare (03:03)
7. W.O.O.O.U. (05:07)
8. In Your Name (03:57)
9. Glass (03:01)
10. Kill It (06:25)
11. Cuts Inside (04:05)

Incl. VAT, excl. shipping costs