Out of Line Website Out of Line Shop


Syntech - P’som Sett - CD - DigiCD

SKU 12850
Release Date Oct 21, 2011
price incl. VAT., excl. shipping
release date: october 10th 2011

Two years after their well-received debut „Rising from the Ashes“ Syntech release their sophomore album. The cover already displays the dichotomy that is the core issue of “P’som Sett”, the struggle of nature against the forces of industry – which is most dangerously manifest in the global destruction of rainforests (and the species living within) for the sake of profit. Musically this is reflected in an impulsive clash of tribal beats vs. machine rhythms, imbedded into dark atmospheres. The album starts with the gloomy perspective of the downbeat “Blackest Night Sirens”. “Labyrinth” contains all the features of “P’som Sett” in a nutshell: A wild tempest of beats and percussions, relentlessly pushing the tune forward, while a claustrophobic atmosphere permeates the mind – cinematic and threatening! “Shy” has an almost Trip Hop-like vibe, while the title track is a more straightforward option for the Industrial dance floor, as well as the electro-infused “Voltage Boost”. Throughout the album you will find a lot of diversion through change of rhythmic pace, ethno-flavoured percussive stretches and melodic fragments deep in the mix. “Whiteout” seems to lead the album towards a more quiet ending, before the closing title “Is not My Problem” assaults the listener with a dehumanized clutter of noise that devours all structure. Whereas “Rising from the Ashes” had been a rhythmic monolith that clearly disclosed the association with Industrial outfit Greyhound through the dominance of looped, pounding beats, Syntech now move further into a territory of their own with “P’som Sett”. This album manages to take the listener on a 78 minute journey that never gets tiring and offers some surprises en route. And – repeated listening is recommended in order to discover all the little details to be found within! 
01 Blackest Night Sirens 
02 Labyrinth 
03 Shy 
04 Phraa Jaan Naak 
05 Phi Ton Mai 
06 Coated with Dust 
07 Voltage Boost
08 Congenial Spirit 
09 Kumphakan 
10 Dying of Forest 
11 Wacah Chan 
12 Whiteout 
13 Is not My Problem

Syntech - P’som Sett - CD - DigiCD

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views