Out of Line Website Out of Line Shop


Ostara - The Only Solace - CD - DigiCD

SKU 09316
Release Date Dec 26, 2008
price incl. VAT., excl. shipping
Release Date: january the 16th 2009.

The callers in the storm are back. After two excursions into the field of alternative guitar rock, the British-Australian formation around Richard Levy has remembered its true strengths and with 'The Only Solace' has produced a breath takingly beautiful neofolk album which catapults OSTARA right back to the spearhead of the genre. Fatalistic lyrics full of abysmal thoughts, executed with sensitive vocals, carried by captivating melodies and crystal clear acoustic guitar accords. Far removed from cheap effect and unreflected symbolic games, OSTARA creates a magical animist world under the spell of a tragic past and faced with an uncertain future. In their mystical world view they penetrate time and open the view for unforeseen connectivities. In this context many lyrics are revealed as traps, and mundane experiences take a cruel twist. Levy's lyrics surround the listener with comforting atmospheres and metaphors, a quality that is unique in the area of neofolk, just to awake the listener in an ungentle manner from sleep to reason. Our buildings are already ruins.
When the rustle of the masses turns into noise, the cry of the individual appears like a tentative murmur in the wind. Hardly any other band understands how to express the silent tragic and heroic of the awakened individual so powerfully. And OSTARA deserves to be listened to.


01 Victory Surrender
02 The First Day of Summer
03 Darkly Shining
04 Calling to the Storm
05 Pillow of Ashes
06 Architects of Ruin
07 Fields of Fire
08 The Carnival
09 Lanterns of the Storm
10 Rise Descending
11 Stilts & Crutches
12 The Only Solace
13 The Darkening
14 If the Dead could see

Ostara - The Only Solace - CD - DigiCD

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • Ostara - Immaculate Destruction - 2CD


    Ostara - Immaculate Destruction - 2CD